RenoPeek

Best free AI interior design apps and what free means

By The RenoPeek desk, Cost research and tools · updated

Free means six different things in this category, from a permanent tier with no card to a one-day trial that bills you afterwards. This page records what each vendor's own pricing page stated on August 14, 2026, including the three whose prices are not readable by a crawler at all.

Free means six different things here

Every app in this category uses the word free, and almost none of them mean the same thing by it. A permanent tier with no card is free. A one-day trial that charges $24 on day two is also called free. So is a credit pack you buy, a plan whose free option was removed, and a page that says “try it free” without publishing any limit at all.

The distinction matters because the failure mode is identical in each case: you photograph a room, generate three designs you like, and discover the paywall at the moment you want a fourth. Sorting the vendors by what they actually publish takes about ten minutes, and this page is the result of doing it on one day.

1 of 7Vendors in this sweep publishing a permanent free tier with no card required: Spacely AI. Read from vendor pricing pages on August 14, 2026.

One methodological note, because it changes how much weight these rows deserve — the rules this site works by spell it out further. This desk did not run seven apps against the same room photograph. Every figure below is a vendor statement, read off that company’s own live page on August 14, 2026, and labeled as such. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate.

Free tiers as published on August 14, 2026

AppFree allowance as publishedWatermarkCard to startPaid from
Spacely AIFree plan, $0 forever, 40 trial creditsNone, statedNot required, stated$9 for 200 credits
DecorAI1-day trial, 3 AI designsNone, statedNot stated$24 per month
Interior AINone at any tierNot applicableYes$49 per month
Home Design AINot publishedNot statedNot stated$9.99 credit packs
Collov AI“Try it free”, no limit publishedNot statedNot statedNot published
Reroom AI“Try for free”, no limit publishedNot statedNot statedNot published
RoomGPTNot readable, see belowNot statedNot statedNot readable

Two vendors publish terms a reader can plan around, and they are Spacely AI and DecorAI. Three publish an invitation without a number. One publishes an honest absence. The last one publishes nothing a machine can read, which turns out to be its own story.

The vendors whose prices a crawler cannot read

This is the finding that does not appear in other comparisons of these apps, and it is measurable rather than arguable. Fetching each vendor’s page directly and stripping the markup shows how much text actually reaches a crawler — or an AI assistant asked “how much does RoomGPT cost”.

Page fetchedHTML deliveredWords a crawler can read
interiorai.com500 KB4,640
decorai.io386 KB1,945
spacely.ai/pricing382 KB1,179
collov.ai180 KB1,195
reroom.ai924 KB210
roomgpt.io32 KB182
roomgpt.io/dream6.7 KB6

RoomGPT is the most-searched brand in this niche and its product page returns six words of readable text. Reroom AI ships 924 kilobytes of markup carrying 210 words. Both of their pricing URLs returned 404 to a direct fetch, as did Collov’s.

A page that renders its prices only in the browser has published them to customers and hidden them from every assistant those customers now ask first.

The practical consequence for a reader is simple and slightly unfair: the apps easiest to research are not the best apps, they are the ones that serve text instead of a JavaScript shell. Any comparison built purely on what is readable, including this one, inherits that bias, which is why the row above says “not readable” rather than “no free tier”.

Spacely AI: the only permanent free tier found

Spacely AI’s pricing page lists a Free plan at $0, described as free forever, carrying 40 trial credits, access to all features, high-resolution download, private mode, a commercial license and watermark-free output. Signup states no credit card required. Its paid path is credits rather than a subscription: 200 for $9, 1,000 for $35, 5,000 for $150, stated as roughly 100, 500 and 2,500 renders respectively, and stated not to expire.

Two credits per render is the implied rate from those figures, which puts the free allowance at around twenty designs. That is the largest no-card allowance published by any vendor in this sweep, and it comes with commercial rights that most trials withhold.

The caveat is that its free plan is listed as trial credits rather than a recurring monthly grant. Free forever describes the plan, not a refill, so the 40 credits appear to be a one-time allocation — the page does not state a renewal, and we did not create an account to find out.

DecorAI: three designs, then $24 a month

DecorAI publishes a one-day free trial at $0 including three AI designs, watermark-free output, access to all 20-plus tools, 175 design styles across 135 space types, 4K results, commercial usage rights and private generation mode. After the trial it is $24 per month for unlimited designs, with “no caps, no credits” stated explicitly, or $120 half-yearly.

Unlimited-for-a-flat-fee is genuinely unusual in a market that mostly meters renders, and it is the reason this vendor is worth naming even though its free window is one day. If you have a specific room and a free afternoon, three watermark-free designs at full quality is a real trial rather than a teaser.

One thing to note in DecorAI’s favor and against it at once: its site publishes a comparison table scoring rivals, including RoomGPT and Spacely. Those are a competitor’s claims about third parties, not vendor statements about themselves, so nothing from that table appears in this page.

Interior AI: no free tier, and it says so plainly

Interior AI publishes Pro at $49 per month for 1,000 interior designs, Premium at $99 for 5,000, and Ultra at $199 for 25,000, with yearly billing bringing Pro to an effective $29 per month at $349 per year. There is no free tier at any level.

That deserves less criticism than it usually gets. A vendor stating “$49, no free option” costs a reader nothing but a click, while a vendor advertising “try free” with no published limit costs an account signup to discover the same thing. Interior AI’s page is also the most complete in the category at 4,640 readable words — it is the easiest of these products to evaluate before paying, precisely because it does not pretend to be free.

A trial is not a free tierOne day with three designs answers whether the tool works on your room. It does not survive a renovation, where you will regenerate the same space a dozen times as the budget changes.
Credits outlive subscriptionsSpacely states its credits never expire. For a renovation running over months rather than days, a non-expiring pack fits the actual usage pattern better than a monthly plan you forget to cancel.
Commercial rights are separateStaging a listing or billing a client is commercial use. Two vendors here grant it on free output explicitly; the rest do not address it, and undefined is not the same as allowed.

How many renders one room decision takes

This is the number comparisons of these apps leave out, and it decides which pricing model suits you better than any headline allowance.

A single style direction rarely lands on the first attempt. The first render misreads something — the window, the ceiling height, the doorway — and you adjust the prompt and try again. Three or four attempts per direction is a reasonable working figure, an estimate rather than a measurement, and most people choose between at least three directions before they commit.

~12 rendersThree style directions at three to four attempts each — a working budget for one room decision, against published free allowances of 3 to about 20.

That arithmetic puts a three-design trial below the threshold for deciding anything and puts Spacely AI’s twenty-odd renders right at it. It also explains why the flat-rate model exists: at $24 per month with no caps, DecorAI stops the counting entirely, and during an active renovation the counting is the annoying part.

The real cost of a metered tool is not the money. It is deciding whether a render is worth spending a credit on, which is exactly the hesitation that stops you exploring the option you would have chosen.

What burns a free tier fastest

A bad source photograph. Wide-angle shots from a doorway showing three walls give the model too much geometry to hold together, and the output warps. A straight-on photo of one or two walls, taken at eye height in daylight, produces usable results on the first or second attempt instead of the fourth. Keep that same photo for every attempt: re-photographing between renders introduces differences that read as design changes when they are camera changes.

Vague prompts. “Make it modern” returns something generic that you then have to correct. Naming materials, palette and one reference — “warm oak floor, matte white walls, black metal fittings” — gets closer immediately.

Regenerating for small fixes. These tools rebuild the whole image every time, so a render that is right except for the rug cannot be nudged. Accept the version that is 90 percent right rather than spending four more credits chasing the last 10 percent that will change something else — and download it the moment it appears, because free tiers rarely keep a render history.

What no free tier tells you

Every app in this category is good at the same thing and weak at the same thing, and no pricing table captures it. They restyle surfaces in a photograph convincingly — paint, flooring, cabinet fronts, furniture, lighting mood. They judge dimensions poorly, because a single photograph carries no reliable scale.

The consequence is specific rather than vague. A render will happily show a kitchen island in a galley kitchen that cannot physically accommodate one, or a sofa that would block the door swing. Neither the free tier nor the $199 tier fixes this, because it is a property of working from one photo rather than a property of the price.

That is why the useful workflow pairs a render with an arithmetic check. Generate the look, then measure the room and price it: the remodel cost calculator turns square footage into a budget range, and what a kitchen remodel costs shows where that money goes once cabinetry enters the picture.

Who should choose which

Someone testing whether this class of tool works at all should take DecorAI’s three full-quality designs. It is the fastest way to find out, although whether the trial asks for a card is not stated.

Someone previewing one room with no intention of paying should start with Spacely AI, because it is the only permanent no-card option published here and its free output carries a commercial license. Its twenty-odd renders are also roughly what one room decision consumes, and the credits are stated not to expire.

Someone mid-renovation, regenerating the same space repeatedly as decisions change, is better served by DecorAI’s $24 flat month than by any credit pack — unlimited genuinely means unlimited on that plan as published, and a renovation burns renders faster than anyone expects.

Someone staging listings professionally is looking at Interior AI’s volume tiers or Spacely’s larger credit packs, and should read the license terms rather than infer them. Virtual staging carries disclosure obligations in real estate listings that decorating your own bedroom does not.

Someone who has not yet decided what the room should look like does not need any of these yet. Designing a room from a photo covers what this class of tool can and cannot establish, and how to use AI on a room covers the order of operations that produces a usable render instead of a pretty one.

The room-specific versions

Rooms differ enough that the same tool behaves differently in each, and the failure modes are not shared. A living room is the easy case — no plumbing, no cabinetry — where the only consistent error is circulation, because renders compose for a camera rather than for walking.

A bedroom punishes the widening error hardest, since a bed cannot be scaled down after delivery. A kitchen is where the error becomes expensive, against a national average of $26,939. A bathroom is the one room where layout is a drainage question rather than a design one, so renders should be asked for tile and nothing else.

Reading the room-specific page before generating usually saves more renders than any prompting technique, because the check you need to run afterwards differs by room.

When none of these is the right tool

Three situations, stated plainly, where the answer is to close the app.

When the question is structural. Whether a wall is load-bearing, whether the plumbing can move, whether the floor takes the weight of stone — none of that is visible in a photograph, and a render showing the result implies a feasibility nobody checked.

When the budget is the actual constraint. If the real question is whether this is a $15,000 or a $45,000 project, an image answers nothing. HomeAdvisor puts the national average kitchen remodel at $26,939 against a typical range of $14,589 to $41,547, read August 14, 2026 — that spread, not the styling, is what decides most renovations.

When you are choosing paint. Screens lie about color more than any other surface, because a render cannot show what a finish does under your room’s actual light at four in the afternoon. Paint samples on the actual wall remain undefeated, and interior painting costs covers what the job runs once you have chosen.

Questions people ask

Is there a genuinely free AI interior design app?
Spacely AI publishes the only permanent free tier found in this sweep: a plan listed at $0 forever with 40 trial credits, high-resolution download, commercial license and watermark-free output, with no card required to sign up. Every other free option read on August 14, 2026 was a trial that ends or a credit pack you buy.
How many free designs do you actually get?
Between three and roughly twenty, depending on vendor. DecorAI states three AI designs in its one-day trial. Spacely AI grants 40 credits, which its own credit table implies is around 20 renders at its stated rate of roughly two credits per render. Interior AI grants none at any tier.
Do free AI interior design apps watermark the output?
The two vendors publishing detailed free terms both say they do not. Spacely AI lists watermark-free output on its $0 plan and DecorAI lists watermark-free output during its trial, both read August 14, 2026. Vendors that publish no free terms at all also publish no watermark policy, which is not the same as promising there is none.
How many renders does it take to decide on a room?
More than most free tiers provide. A single style direction usually takes three or four attempts to produce a usable image, and most people compare at least three directions — about a dozen renders before any decision. That is a working estimate rather than a measurement, and it is why per-render economics matter more than the headline free number.
Can I use free AI interior renders commercially?
Sometimes, and it must be checked per vendor rather than assumed. Spacely AI lists a commercial license on its free plan and DecorAI lists commercial usage rights during its trial, both read August 14, 2026. Vendors that do not publish free-tier terms publish no license terms either, so commercial use there is undefined rather than permitted.
Can AI room design apps keep my existing furniture?
Some offer it and none do it reliably. The model regenerates the image rather than editing it, so a sofa it was told to keep usually comes back as a similar sofa rather than yours. Treat every object in the output as a suggestion, not as a photograph of your possessions.
The RenoPeek deskBuilds the calculators on this site and reads every competitor claim off that company's own live page on a stated date, rather than repeating what other comparison articles say about them.
Sources